Language update: Week 0

Several of my 100 day goals involve learning and practicing languages I am not fluent in.

So, as a way to track my additional progress in mastering these languages, I will do weekly updates in the progress I have made.

I use several methods to not only familiarize myself but to involve myself with the languages I am learning. The most progressive thing I do is language courses on a free website called Memrise.

As a starting point, I will include my course progress so far with these languages below.


Korean:

  • A Lesson in Hanguel 40/40 words learned (40 in long term memory)

Chinese/Mandarin:

  • Introductory Chinese: read a menu! (no audio) 85/85 words learned (85 in long term memory)
  • Survival Chinese 25/25 words learned (25 in long term memory)
  • Mandarin Reading Survival 5/480 words learned (5 in long term memory)

Spanish:

  • Beginner’s Spanish 24 / 24 words learned (24 in long term memory)
  • Learn Basic Spanish 154 / 324 words learned (154 in long term memory)

Japanese:

  • Introduction to Japanese 18 / 204 words learned (18 in long term memory)

Here is my Memrise profile if you want to look around it for a bit

The first language update will be next Thursday, October 2nd.